Arsenal come back from two goals down to win the FA Cup


Arsenal ended their nine-year trophy drought after Aaron Ramsey’s extra-time winner as the Gunners came from 2-0 down to defeat Hull and win the 2014 FA Cup trophy.

Arsene Wenger’s side started poorly and conceded after just three minutes when Tom Huddlestone’s first-time volley from the edge of the area was turned into the corner of the net by James Chester.

It would be a defender who scored the second too, as Curtis Davies sidefooted home from a narrow angle after Alex Bruce’s header flicked off the outside of the post.

Arsenal halved the two-goal deficit in the 17th minute when Santi Cazorla’s curling free kick evaded the dive of Allan McGregor, who could only fingertip it onto the underside of the crossbar and in.


After the break Arsenal had two stonewall penalty shouts waved away by referee Lee Probert before the much sought-after equaliser eventually came 20 minutes from time.

Bacary Sagna’s header in the area ricocheted off Chester and broke kindly for Laurent Koscielny, who bundled the ball under McGregor and into the net.

The winning goal came 11 minutes from time when in-form Ramsey, running onto a Giroud backheel, picked out the bottom corner with a crisp outside-of-the-boot strike.

Sone Aluko almost scored a dramatic late equaliser when he beat Lukasz Fabianski to a ball on the wing and tried to find the net from a tight angle but could only curl it agonisingly across the face of goal.

Arsenal did manage to hold firm in the final minutes to win their first major trophy since the 2005 FA Cup.

Arsenal: Fabianski, Sagna, Mertesacker, Koscielny, Gibbs, Arteta, Ramsey, Cazorla (Rosicky 106), Ozil (Wilshere 106), Podolski (Sanogo 61), Giroud.

Subs: Szczesny, Vermaelen, Monreal, Flamini.

Goals: Cazorla 17, Koscielny 71, Ramsey 109

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe for notification